Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

For a long time, there is an unsurprising trend that young talents tend to take their interests into first consideration when getting enrolled in universities and make decisions on what to study, while nowadays, some argue that the priority only should be given to subjects which are considered more helpful and useful in modern life. In my perspective, latter opinion just pays attention to the development of society rather than the requirement for every human being. Those cut-edged technologies, undoubtedly, is one of the main driving forces power for a nation to develop into a civilized society. Scientists and technical specialists are highly demanded talents in the job market worldwide. However, this phenomenon does not mean students’ own preferences should give way to the need for career development. Though those talents equipped with STEM knowledge are strongly needed, not everyone who studies in advanced majors could develop what they learn at school into what they make a living on in post-school life. When it comes to the motivation for students to study and develop actively and spontaneously, hobbies and interests, instead of job-hunting oriented reason, are always on top of the list. As one Chinese saying goes, “interest is the best teacher”, the internal driver always plays a key role in encouraging students to dive into the majors they like. and being knowledgeable and irreplaceable in the fields that they are thirsty for and curious about could also lead them into a more successful life. In conclusion, the applicability and practicality of a certain major should not be the only reason when adolescents decide on their majors. Young people’s interests and preferences should not be ignored and deserve thorough consideration as well.