Some say that because many people are living much longer, the edge at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, life expectancy is growing over the years all over the world. This situation has many consequences to aspects as politics, economics, demographics, etcetera, and between them is the matter of retiring, which means the age when you legally stop working and commence to live with the money you have saved through all the labour years. In this respect, many people are starting to think that the fact of people living longer than before, implies that the age of retiring should be modified so people can retire later in their lives. In my opinion, despite the life expectancy of people, the age of retiring should not change. People spend almost all their lives working, enjoying the minimum of it due to the importance jobs have in our lives. Employees do not spend enough time with their families, have limited days of vacation, and have to work most part of the day. With this in mind, the minimum that people deserve after long years of work, is to retire at a dignified age, where they can still enjoy their life and the things that they have put all their effort into. Extending the retirement’s age would mean that people should spend more years working and living mainly for that, instead of having a few years of their lives to relax and rest from the pressure of jobs. Even if this means dealing with issues in the economy, I think that governments should devise solutions that benefit elderly people, as gratitude for all the effort and money they have put in the country. Maybe having retirements at a longer age would be positive for the finances of a country, but in my opinion, this would be harmful for the elderly’s physical and mental health, so I believe the ages should maintain as they are now.