Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

Few scholarly topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as increasing retirement age in an increase of life expectancy rates, especially in the past few decades. Although there is substantial debate over whether the retirement age should be increased f or the longevity of employment tenure of old people or it should remain same as to enjoy after retirement life, I am of the opinion that the latter proposition has several strong elements that deserve attention. A number of drawbacks can be attributed to the increase in the retirement age. On the one hand, people with old age are more susceptible to infection and severe diseases which can lead to unstable productivity in their workforces. On the other, with the in crease in service years of more than retirement age will detrimentally impact on the economy with the increase in unemployment among the young population. Most of the people require more medical care facilities at old age and they need proper care and suff icient time for themselves which is possible after retirement. There is no doubt that all these merits of not increasing the retirement age will hold old people in good stead as far as their own precious time for fulfilling their dreams is concerned. Admit tedly it is true that an increase in retirement age will bring financial independence among old people and one cannot dismiss the deleterious effects associated with it. However, these benefits appear to be insignificant against the deluge of drawbacks tha t increased retirement age at the workplace offers. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the concerns regarding retirement age at the workplace. Nevertheless, I feel that the role of retirement in old people’s life to spent more time with family and friends and brings more job opportunities to youngsters is instrumental indeed.