Some Psychologists Say That Doing Absolutely Nothing For A Period Of Time Is The Key To Reducing Stress in Everyday Life

Some psychological experts argue that in order to eliminate stress from our daily life, it is better to spend a certain amount of time without engaging in any sort of activities. However, it seems that this suggestion does not appear to be much productive due to manifold reasons. Firstly, being idle for a period of time would probably create a state of laziness in the people. To elaborate, this practice does not significantly stimulate the body and mind. Instead of that, it leads to a more idle state. In addition, this method may become more boring for many a person, as it lacks any sort of mental or physical stimulation. For example, doing some activities like meditation increases the concentration and presence of mind; however, being idle leads to sleepiness / drowsiness. Therefore, the benefit may not be progressive as expected. What’s more, people may entertain unwanted or harmful thoughts while staying idle. In the end, this will cause more harm than good. Secondly, there are various ways to cope with mental stress, which can deliver not only mental but also physical advantage. Being engaged in activities like sports and games, for instance, boosts our mental health; apart from that, it helps us to stay rejuvenated throughout the day. To conclude, it does not seem advisable that such relaxation techniques advocated by certain experts are effective for every individual in the long term, as it does not contribute significantly to deal with daily stress; actually, there are better ways to cope with stress. Hence, in my opinion, this suggestion is not likely to be productive.