Some peopre soy lhot porents should orgonise free firne octivities for lheir children. olhers soy children should be free fo choose whol lhey do in their free lime. Discuss bolh sides ond opine.

For the holistic development of children, leisure time activities play a very important role. Some people are of the opinion that such activities should be decided and organized by the parents, whereas others opine that children should have the freedom to decide how they want to utilize that free time. This essay intends to delve into both perspectives. l, however, side with the latter view. It is easy to see why some people opine that planning free time activities should be in the hands of parents. They say that children are not mature enough to understand the value of time, and may end up wasting their free time through unproductive extra-curricular activities. So, parents should plan the available free time for their children, as they want the best for their children. Parents know their children well, in terms of their likes and dislikes, and also their interests. They can organize activities that will help their children, s holistic development. For example, they can have them play outdoor games, learn music or dance, develop their creative skills llke drawing and painting and so on. Parents also need to ensure that the time spent on unproductive activities, like watching TV, playing video games, etc. should be minimized, and they should set a time limit for such activities. However, I firmlv believe that children should have the liberty of deciding how they want to spend their leisure time. Research has proven that the children, who perform unstructured free-time activities, are more creative, and become more successful when they grow up. lf children are always told what to do and follow a set of rules, it hinders their cognitive, emotional and creative development. Such children may not be very good at decision making, planning and setting goals. The children, who are in-charge of choosing how they spend their free time, are more likely to have better concentration levels and become more successful in their studies and later, in their professional lives. Furthermore, if children have the independence to choose the activities for their free time, it may bring to light some hidden talent of the child, which may otherwise go unnoticed if they do only what is planned for them. For example, a child may be good at dance, and maybe parents notice him practicing steps after seeing some programme on TV. They may not have planned dance classes in his/her free time on their own. But, on noticing that talent, they may then help their child exploit his/her talent. So, even if the free time planning is left on the children, the role played by the parents cannot be undermined. They should definitely supervise their children to notice some hidden ability, and also to ensure that they do not harm themselves. To sum up, I would like to reiterate that children and youngsters should be given the independence to decide their free-time activities for the complete development of their mind, body and skills, but at the same time their parents' watchful eye should be there over them.