benefits and drawbacks of international sporting events

In this modern era, organising international sporting events by many nations is a topic of public interest and concern. While various benefits of organising international sporting events are obvious, its drawbacks cannot be denied. On the one hand, it can improve national image and build international relationships. Obviously, improving national image can lead to lasting economic benefits. Nations that host events should expect a steady boost in recognition and tourists. This increased visibility may be beneficial to the economy in terms of drawing tourists and recruiting corporate investment. Moreover, hosting international sporting events fosters peace and strengthens international connections because several countries come up to help the host country in many ways such as offering financial aid and sportsperson training. On the other hand, hosting international sporting events costs a lot of money and causes health problems. It cannot be denied that when organising it, the host country has to pay a lot of money such as the cost of building stadiums, the cost of security, . . . The security requirements for major sporting events are becoming increasingly stringent. This is both expensive and could limit local inhabitants’ freedom of movement during the events. Some countries have seen an increase in tax post games to finance a loss of putting on the sporting event. This increase in cost has made hosting the international sporting events less politically popular. Besides, in Covid-19 pandemic, organising international sporting events is extremely dangerous. Such events frequently result in the mixing of populations from other regions of the world who travel to the competition site, exposing them to a different infectious risk. In conclusion, although improving national image and building international relationships are benefits of organising international sporting events, its drawbacks including high cost and health problems are obvious.