Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The prompt claims that colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time outside their academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach. I mostly agree with this statement, as academic work can often be disconnected from the real world, especially in abstract fields such as mathematics. For the following two reasons I believe that encouraging faculty to step out of their comfort zone and into the real world may have many benefits if done correctly. Work done in post-secondary settings is often isolated from relevant professions. Not only are many colleges and universities located in small towns, but faculty very often contain themselves to the locations of post secondary institutions. This, in turn, reduces their exposure to the going-ons and recent advacements of the world outside academic settings, as well as the consequences of the work they do. Take, for example, the development of nucleur weapons at Los Alamos. Many of the physicists and engineers working on atomic bombs and related technology look back at their work with regret and guilt. Through their isolation from the reality of war and society, they failed to recognize the consequences of their work and became so engrossed in the low level details of the science that they lost sight of the human lives success would cost. By requiring these scientists to spend time in, for example, military sectors relevant to their work, perhaps they would have been more grounded in the realities of their research. In addition to providing a grounding in reality, time spent outside the academic world can be an inspiriation to work done within it. Turning to different field, take for example English and literature. Writer's block is a very real problem for many professionals and academics. Research has shown that a lack of novelty and a mundane routine can contribute to writer's block, and thus novelty and new experiences can alleviate it. New experiences are often the source of new ideas. Requiring academics to pursue novel experiences in the form of work in professions relevent to their fields would expose them to ample opportunity to seek out new inspiration and avoid issues related to a lack of novely, such as writer's block. In conclusion, I believe that encouraging, but not requiring, faculty to pursue new experiences is highly beneficial. I would like to emphasize the point that the exposure of faculty to work outside the academic world is only beneficial if done in a flexible and balanced manner. Academics often face demanding work, and so their research and classes should take priority. However, time allowed, the grounding in real life and inspiration provided by time spent in professional fields