SOME PEOPLE TODAY PREFER TO GET ADVISED FOR MEDICAL PROBLEM AND DO NOT WANT TO VISIT A DOCTOR. WHY IS THIS? IS IT A POSITIVE OR A NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

Although some believe that it is convenient to seek medical advice rather than opting for a check-up. In my opinion, I believe that this is a negative development as this may lead to more serious health issues and information may be misleading. 42 One serious issue that may arise from self-medicating is causing severe damage to the health condition of an individual. A few prefer seeking temporary relief and easily available medicines to cure them than requesting an appointment with the Doctor. Consequently, this could lead to more complicated health issues arising from untreated disease and prolonging the recovery period. To illustrate, it has been a habit by individuals to take high doses of painkillers to relieve them from headaches or migraine attacks while unknowingly damaging their liver. Thus, individuals should refrain from self-medication as this can worsen their condition. 97 Another issue is that some would rather research for a diagnosis over the web that could be inaccurate. Instead of visiting a specialized Doctor to further assess them, they would rather put their trust in the internet where it could pop out worrisome possible cause and effect of their current condition. Moreover, few may foolishly think that they could have life threatening illnesses. For example, some think they have Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease whenever their stomach aches and buy antibiotics as recommended in their research. Therefore, gathering advice for medical conditions can be stressful. 93 To recapitulate, even though seeking medical advice is advantageous, this can complicate the health issue of an individual if left untreated and alarming. In my opinion, it is better to seek medical consultation directly from Doctors to be given an accurate diagnosis. 42