Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A good number of people believe that having a fair understanding of medicines is the most significant skill for the nurses. However, I would argue that there are many other essential skills a health care worker must demonstrate. For an attendant, it is vital to know about medicines, without which a caregiver might be less equipped while taking an instant decision in case of an emergency. For example, in case of a pandemic when most of the healthcare workers and doctors are busy, a good medical knowledge would benefit a nurse while attending a patient. Furthermore, having understanding of medicines might lead to saving lives of many. To illustrate, during the Covid-19 outbreak, when most of the hospital were full and the doctors were extremely busy, a lot of healthcare workers were educated to treat the sick with basic medication. However, I think a job as caregiver is far more important, and a nurse must demonstrate empathy. If a nurse is not compassionate enough, she/he would never comprehend what a patient is going through. As a result, the caregiver would be unable to attend the sick properly. There are many examples in medical science where it is proven that with love and a proper care a person can come back from his/her death-bed. Moreover, it’s a nurse who spends the most of the time with the patient, and being kind can heal a person faster as he/she is in a happy environment. In conclusion, while a good understanding of medicines is an important skill for a nurse, I believe that the most significant ability a caregiver must demonstrate is compassion.