Medical science has greatly lengthened the average lifespan for most people. Some think this is a positive development while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over recent years, medical science has made a tremendous advancement as well as contributed in enhancing the average life expectancy of human beings. While some people think this is a good consequence, there are people who disagree as well. I believe this is a boon from medical science to mankind as people can stay healthy and live longer. Let us examine both the perspectives in the subsequent paragraphs followed by my own opinion. First and foremost, let us discuss the positives of increased average life span due to medical science. Due to the continuous ongoing research about diseases and the root cause of such ailments, awareness is much higher than before. Consequently, the instances of sudden deaths have decreased. To elaborate, it is easier to diagnose the disease based on the symptoms because of the availability of advanced medical equipment which were not accessible before. This aids the medical practitioner to intervene earlier before the condition of the patient worsens and in many cases, life can be saved. To exemplify, in a study published in 'Journal of medical sciences' by Dr. Richard Philip in 2010 titled 'Average Lifespan and medical advancement', he established a positive correlation between the modernization of health care and an average life span of people. He explained how early diagnosis of the disease helps in saving lives as well as avoiding unnatural deaths even though the disease is a chronic one. On the other hand, the increased life span contributes to the higher population growth rate which leads to several issues. To clarify, since the resources on the planet are limited, increased life span implies that more people need to consume these available resources. The pressure has been transferred to the agricultural land to produce more food which means the usage of more chemicals in form of fertilizers on the land. Not only this leads to the deterioration of the land quality in the long run but also contributes to pollution. To illustrate, 80% of the respondents out of 400 farmers in a survey conducted by 'Agricultural Society of Europe' in 2015 agreed that there is an ever-increasing pressure of producing more from the available land resources due to which the acidity level has increased over the years. In my opinion, I assert that with the help of medical science we are able to lead a healthy and a longer life which is indeed a great benefit. To explain, apart from the positives highlighted above, we are also able to reduce the number of stillbirths and infant deaths. The doctors are easily able to detect any anomalies in the child before birth which facilitates them to take appropriate measures. To cite an example, as per a study conducted by 'Health Authority of Manchester' from 500 hospitals in 2015, they noticed a gradual decrease in the number of stillborn cases over the years. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that, although the enhanced life span has increased pressure on the available resources but the benefits of increased life span due to advancements in medical sciences are much higher. Hence, I agree that this is a positive development.