Currently, automobiles have become a basic necessity of the modern society and hence their number has grown drammatically all over the world, especially in metropolitan cities.

Currently, automobiles have become a basic necessity of the modern society and hence their number has grown drammatically all over the world, especially in metropolitan cities. This essay will suggest that the major problem caused by this phenomenon is the pollution and then submit to promote public transports as the most reasonable solution. To begin with, there are several problems which are associated with the increase in the number of cars in metropolises. The first and foremost one is an air pollution. In other words, there are massive emissions of toxic gases in most of the urban areas, which has detrimental effect on the environment. Additionally, this kind of toxic gases would have a negative effect on not only nature but also human health. Another problem would be traffic congestion. This means that, currently, cars are becoming more cheaper and more people are buying them. As a result, there will be more traffic jams and this cause frustration for people who cannot reach their workplaces on time. However, there are number of solutions to this situation. Firstly, government should maximize the utilization of public transportation and improve it's quality. Consequently, people will prefer to opt for public transports such as metros and buses instead of their own automobiles. Furthermore, rising fuel prices and implement zero-emissons cars can be the most viable solutions to reduce the toxic gases on the environment. This is because, if the government increase the fuel prices, people won't afford to buy fuel. Thereby, they will take public transportation instead of their own cars. In conclusion, increasing number of cars on the road leads a lot of problems including air pollution and traffic jams. Nevertheless, increase the level of public transports and fuel prices must be encouraged to solve the problem.