Some people think the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is regarded as the backbone of a country’s strength. Schools are places where children gain knowledge about not only becoming productive members of society but also moneymakers. Therefore, how a person is educated in educational institutes has a major impact on their life and society as a whole. While I agree with the idea that education prepares children to be law-abiding citizens and workers since schools provide them with good lessons, I also think that schooling helps them grow individually because of trained teachers. It is well known that pupils learn a wide range of subjects at school from culture to economy, which brings them in-depth knowledge about how to behave correctly and to earn money legally. Not only are lessons designed based on real stories about cultural value and economic progress, but they also are widely socially accepted as a standard to educate citizens, whereby children can learn skills and rules that enable them to succeed in the job market. For example, a recent study showed that 95% of well-educated children in Vietnam do not break the laws and also know how to earn a living themselves. Nonetheless, the educational system should develop children individually at the same time to maximize the learners’ potential. It is important for children to learn with teachers who are competent and skilled, also help them to understand their strengths and improve their weaknesses. This is linked in part to the formation of their personality at the early stage when children often see their instructor as a role model. Furthermore, experienced teachers can help them discover their potential and build confidence in them so that they can self-grow even if they are at home without a teacher’s help. 95% of ideal children in the study possess punctuality and interpersonal skills and integrate them efficiently into earning an income. In conclusion, some individuals ascertain that the main objective of schools is to make children become better citizens and to ensure their livelihood because children gain great value from practical schooling sessions. While I totally agree with this notion, I also believe that growing children individually should be emphasized because of professional teachers at school. Ultimately, being an ideal citizen, a productive worker as well as a person with great personality traits is truly prosperous to a country.