At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The age demographic of a country has a direct effect on its prosperity. Most countries categorize their age populations as children, teenagers, young adults (18-40), mature adults and elderly (60 and over). Different age groups have different capacities to ensure the growth and prosperity of their nation. The advantages of having a large proportion of young adults in a country supersede the negatives as this leads to productivity and development. A larger percentage of young adults in a nation empower society to significantly increase manufacturing and services; thereby, creating a strong economy. The reason for this is that 20 to 30-year-olds have lots of energy, they are able to work for 12 hours a day, as well as have many years of employment ahead. For example, a 25-year-old nurse can work double shifts in a hospital as where this becomes much more difficult for a 60-year-old nurse close to retirement. This is one of two clear benefits of having a large young adult population. Young adults have great ambition to learn, create and invent socially and technologically, and these are the forces of progress for a nation. Young adults are driven by self-actualization, and adapt the latest information from universities and learn from the achievements and failures of the previous generations to build a better future. For instance, the nurse freshly graduated from university is up-to-date with the latest information on treatments and medication as where this is unlikely the case for nurses who are nearing their golden years. Furthermore, the young nurse is likely motivated to improve these modern treatments and invent or discover even better ones for the sake of their patients. In conclusion, countries that have a large number of young adults tend to have greater growth and productivity. Therefore, having such an age demographic is greatly advantageous. This is likely the reason that nations with strong economies constantly strive to have a high proportion of young adults in their societies.