Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences.

It is clear that crime is a serious problem facing all societies. Some people believe that the optimal measure to bring down crime rates is to keep criminals in prison for longer. Personally, I disagree with this view. First of all, longer imprisonment simply will not work. In reality, many people who commit serious crimes and are sentenced to many years in prison reoffend after they get out of prison. For example, it is very common for drug offenders to start dealing again right after they have served their sentences. In addition, putting people in jail for a long time could cause serious problems for family members who depend on them. Their spouses, children or elderly parents may lose the financial and mental support that they need, and this could result in great emotional pain, a lack of parenting and older people not getting enough medical attention. Second, there are much better solutions to crimes. One of them is improving prison education. By teaching prisoners useful skills and knowledge to help them get a job more easily after they get out of jail, we can greatly reduce the chances of them committing crimes again. At the same time, there needs to be more emphasis on crime education at school. Students, especially teenagers, need to be aware of how severe punishments for crimes can be as well as the social impact of criminal acts so as to be deterred from becoming a wrongdoer in the future. In conclusion, increasing the number of years that an inmate has to serve in prison is not a good way to reduce crime, and education is a much better approach to deal with this issue.