Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Few individuals suggest that zoos are harmful to animals and should be shut down; while some thinks that it is beneficial for wild animals so as to save them. Are animals really safe in zoo? Although my inclination is towards the former view, before reaching the logical conclusion, I would discuss both the views in the following paragraphs. To begin with, wild animals are forced to do certain things that they do not wish to do, they are out of freedom and also at some times they are torchered. If humans cannot live in the same place for several months then it is highly possible that animals also cannot stay there for years. For instance, due to COVID out break everyone one was locked inside their house and we were wishing, when we can get out of our homes and meet friends and have freedom like earlier we used to have. Furthermore, positive sides of zoos are, wild animals who have came to extinction can be taken care off by these zoos, before 21st century many endangered animals disappeared due to lack to awareness and our next generation will not be able see those animals. Zoos provide with food, shelters proper medications and some other facilities to the wild animals. For instance, in kankaria zoo, Ahmedabad, some of the wild animals are also provided with air coolers in summer season so as to maintain the temperature and irritation caused by high temperatures. To conclude and give my opinion, both points have merits and demerits. However, I feel that animals should set free in their own habitat; we are humans and not god, so we do not have the right to create restrictions for someone who cannot even talk.