Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the current world, people rely on the internet a lot for their day to day activities like buying groceries to do banking. Due to this trend, knowing or unknowingly people post a lot of personal information online while signing up on social networking sites or registering for online banking services. In my opinion, this is not a good practice and has many serious negative impacts. This essay delineates various reasons and facts to support my view. As the internet becomes part of people's life more, apparently the amount of personal data users put in on the web is also growing. First of all, while signing up online many people do not really care about the company's data security and usage policies subsequently, they type in every information requested. Another common trend these days is people posting personal information in social networking sites to draw attention from the public. For instance, even though Facebook's security policy clearly defines do's and dont's about data sharing the general public does not really respect those clauses and act careless. This reckless behaviour of internet users paves way for many illegal online businesses to gain profit and thus nuturing negative developments. To begin with, companies getting access to personal information and using the same for promoting unwanted products. Adding to that, with information such as date of birth or family name hackers can easily crack passwords for banking accounts which allows them to do online frauds easily. Finally, accessing pictures available online without the owner's permission can also led to very serious issues. To conclude, internet users should be well aware about the threat that can happen by sharing too much personal data on the web. Goverment authorities are taking very good actions these days by implementing laws like GDPR to protect personal information. Considering all this, posting too much personal information on the web is a negative trend and could be a disaster.