Some people think that young people should follow social traditions. Others think that they should be free to have their own way of living and behaving.

People have different views on how young people should adhere to national customs. While some people think that youngsters should be allowed to live and behave by themselves, I agree with those who believe that social traditions ought to be followed by the younger generation for several reasons. On the one hand, some people argue that young generation should freely behave and live their own way. In the globalization era, some young people might recognize that there are some inhuman festivals of social tradition such as buffalo fighting festival. Take Do Son buffalo fighting as an example, people force two buffalo to fight each other, and the winning buffalo will be killed in the ceremony. In fact, no matter if buffalo win or lose, they will still be killed by people. It might be an immoral festival, because it dispossesses animals right from buffalo. On the other hand, I completely agree with the former opinion because of two main grounds for youngsters to follow social traditions. Firstly, tradition contributes a sense of belonging and reuniting. For example, on Tet holiday which is one of the traditional aspects of Vietnamese, people reunite to where they belong to which is family, and they can together cook square glutinous rice cake and wait for the new year’s eve. Secondly, tradition reinforces education values such as gratefulness. To be more specific, Hung king’s festival which is a Vietnamese festival which is held annually in order to express gratitude to 18 Hung kings and ancestors of Vietnamese. In conclusion, although social traditions have negative aspects that should not be come after by the young generation, I strongly believe that youngsters ought to follow social tradition because of its values.