Some people think that zoos are cruel and have no place in the modern world. Others feel that zoos still serve a useful purpose.

Zoos are one of human's favorite destinations for entertainment or even education purposes. While some people argue that zoos can be useful in some ways, I side with those who consider that zoos just make animals suffer from cruelty and that they should be shut down On the one hand, it could be argued that zoos are useful in many aspects. Firstly, advocates of this view claim that zoos can serve as a shelter for endangered animals. The animals can receive enough healthy food and veterinary care given by zookeepers to ensure a long-life expectancy. That is why zoos can play an important role in saving animals because many animals that are on the verge of extinction do not have a decent place to live because their natural habitats are being destroyed by humans. Secondly, zoos can serve many educational purposes. Zoo visitors could get the chances to recognize different kinds of animals and observe them in detail, which consequently enables them to broaden their perspective. On the other hand, I believe that zoos need to be closed down for some reason. To begin with, zoos keep animals in cages that are much smaller than their natural homes. Animals are being treated like prisoners by the zoos, they keep the animals behind the glass walls just for the visitors to watch them like in a museum. As a result, this might cause animals to stress, and therefore leads them to be furious and violent. Additionally, many zoos exploit their animals for entertainment purposes. To illustrate, zoos offer visitors various shows like tigers or lions that perform in a circus-style or even elephants that play basketball. Many animal welfare groups claim that those kinds of performances end up mistreating the animals as the animals are abused to entertain humans. For instance, animals have to use painful tools like bullhooks and electric prods that could make them uncomfortable or even hurt them physically. In conclusion, while zoos could provide shelters for endagered animals and serve educational purposes, they keep their animals in unpleasant places and exploit the animals for entertainment purposes. I, therefore, remain convinced that zoos should no longer be allowed to operate.