Some people think that the best way to learn about business is to study a course at college or university. Others believe that there are other better ways to learn about business.

While few people are of the opinion that the vital pathway to learn business is to take up a course as a tertiary education, whereas, some agree that there are a plethora of other options to acquire this skill. This essay will discuss both these views in detail and then I will propose my perspective. To commence with, taking a business course at a university level has many benefits related to it, such as the student will get acquainted with the real-world scenarios to use those skills. Moreover, the classroom environment inculcates a competitive behaviour, which can become quite useful in terms of exploring the topic to its depth. To exemplify, a student when enrols in a business course at a college will have classmates to discuss the same topic in detail and can even share or explore each other’s viewpoints. With a degree or diploma in business, a student can definitely learn business in detail. However, in recent times, there are various choices available to learn the business skills either through taking up the course via learning platforms such as Udemy, Linkedin Learning or taking personal sessions from a trainer. With this, although, an individual gets the advantage of studying in an environment which is suitable for them. But, with these methodologies, they do not gain practical knowledge as well as miss an opportunity to interact with people of the same skill set. For instance, many working professionals due to their busy job schedules are opting to take the post graduation courses through numerous online portals, which is obviously, a great source of knowledge, but they are not able to implement the acquired skill in practical ways. Thus, the other forms of learning lacks the practical experience which is currently in high demand. To conclude, I believe that learning the business skill as a higher education is more significant than learning it from any other source, as with university education, students gets the benefit to explore the practical side of the curriculum in detail and also interact with their peer groups, whereas, this cannot be attained in any other learning areas.