Some people think that young people can learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others argue that people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time.

People have different opinions about the usefulness of playing computer games. While some people consider that children can learn various beneficial skills when they play games on computers, I would argue that spending an excessive amount of time on games is detrimental for them in the long run. On the one hand, there are various valid reasons why it can be argued that playing video games is beneficial for youngsters. First of all, the main reason is that many children can develop hand and eye coordination by playing these games. This skill is further useful in performing real-world tasks such as flying planes or driving submarines. Secondly, if children play these games, it will foster their imagination and creativity as well as logical and thinking abilities. This is due to the fact that while playing sometimes children need to plan and strategize their moves in order to win the game. So, in this process, they would develop certain skills which could be useful in their future. On the other hand, I believe that many youngsters are glued to the screens of technological devices playing for long hours. As these games give new targets and rewards, impressionable minds continuously waste their valuable time in order to accomplish the desired results. As a consequence, they develop an addiction, and for this reason, their playtime and study time is compromised. Rather than doing homework, they spend much of their time in playing games, and hence their academic grades suffer. Moreover, playing indoor games on the console instead of engaging in outdoor activities is detrimental for their health. Therefore, sometimes this causes various health ailments such as obesity. In conclusion, although I understand that video games can be beneficial for students, I agree with the view that some children waste a lot of time playing video games and this could have negative consequences for their academic progress and health.