Some people think that women should not be allowed to work in the police force.

The number of women has increased at workplaces for the past few years. However, some individuals believe that there should be no recruitment of women in the police department. I do not agree with the statement, and will discuss about it in the essay. First of all, crime is not gender-based. In other words, criminals can be either males or females, and it is better to employ lady officers to catch female culprits. The reason is that many female offenders have accused the policemen of sexual harassment; thus, some police officers hesitate to interrogate them. A 2017 survey report suggested that 2 to 10% of sexual assault cases by female prisoners against jail staff were false. Moreover, it is easier for a police officer to deal with the criminals of the same gender. Another important point to consider in favour of the employment of the lady staff in law enforcement authorities is to encourage women empowerment. The reason is that these services involve physical training due to which they start feeling stronger. As a result, they stop fearing and walk with confidence along with their colleagues and others would also get inspired by looking at them. Furthermore, these measures are essential in the developing nations like India, where the crime-rate against women is still higher. Therefore, it is becoming vital to take such steps to strengthen their position in the society. In conclusion, although there are different opinions of people regarding the lady personnel, I believe that this would empower women and help them gain confidence to stand for their rights.