Some people think that when many imported films or TV programmes are shown in a country, it can improve the country’s culture. Others feel that it is better for a country to make and broadcast its own movies and TV shows. Discuss both sides and give your own view

People have different views about whether it is better for a country to purchase foreign movies or to create domestic ones. While importing movies from other countries can have some advantages, I would argue that producing local movies is a better option. On the one hand, there are some clear benefits to buying movies from other countries. Firstly, when a country imports movies produced overseas, it can help its people learn about other cultures in a much easier and more effective way. This would help its citizens to be more knowledgeable. Secondly, individuals can learn the good things of other more civilised societies and alter their behaviour. For example, the habit of queuing is a nice thing in many Western countries, and people from Vietnam can learn and copy this action when watching foreign movies. On the other hand, I believe it is better for countries to produce movies domestically for a number of reasons. The first one is that movies made by local people would help preserve the traditions and customs of their own cultures. For instance, many Vietnamese TV programmes remind young generations how people celebrate Lunar New Year, which is the most important public holiday in some Asian countries. If young people only watch foreign movies, traditional values might be gradually forgotten. Another reason is that the film industry often creates jobs such as actors, directors, and cameramen. Therefore, it is necessary to invest in producing movies in order to provide more employment opportunities for local people. In conclusion, while purchasing foreign movies is beneficial for a nation’s culture to some extent, it seems to me that making local ones is a much better choice.