In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Oftentimes, it is said that whatever we teach the children in their earlier years is like writing on a stone. So, most of the parents try to encourage their kids from the beginning to always strive for their dreams and aspirations. Furthermore, they try to instill in them the art of hard work, which will help them later in their lives to acquire absolutely anything they wish for. Although, it can mostly obtain fruitful results, it can also lead to some serious repercussions. I shall elaborate on these views and discuss a few other aspects of this topic in the forthcoming paragraphs. My views on this topic are strengthened by a few experiences in my personal life. Since my childhood, my parents would always make me work for everything I asked them to purchase for me. For instance, if i asked them to buy me a new toy or a gadget, they would ask me to do a list of household chores and as a result would get me my desired item. Therefore, it helped me understand that in order to achieve something in life I need to put in a great deal of effort. In deep contrast to my views (expressed above), there's also a negative aspect to it. Children may misconstrue these values and try to overachieve, in order to compete. For example, they might want to become a millionaire overnight, at the age of 15, and when they are unable to pull off this goal, would make them highly depressed and lose self confidence. This will also make them insecure and they will start losing their determination towards a particular goal. Based on the elaborate discussion in the paragraphs above, we can conclude that even though its advantageous to teach the children that any objective in life is feasible if they make every effort towards it, it can also cause confusion among them if they fail to recognise its true meaning.