Many people enjoy visiting zoos. Others believe that animals should not be taken from their natural surroundings and put into zoos

A lot of people, especially children, are fond of going to the zoo. There they have an opportunity to look at wild animals, exotic birds, insects, reptiles and fish. When we come to the zoo, we can see animals that we would never have a chance to see in our country. But is it right to keep animals in the zoo? Personally, I think that animals should live in their natural habitats. Animals that live in zoos are confined within enclosures and displayed to the public. It is difficult to create ideal captive environments for some species and sometimes animals have to live in bad conditions and look miserable and untidy. They may suffer from lack of space, comfort and good food. Some wild animals feel stressed in captivity. Sometimes they are kept in such small cages that they are unable to turn around. Besides, in spite of prohibition many visitors give animals food that may do harm to their health and cause different diseases. However, some zoos keep fewer animals in larger, outdoor enclosures, rather than in cages. For instance, safari parks allow visitors to drive through them and come in close contact with the animals. What is more, most modern zoos display wild animals primarily for the conservation of endangered species, as well as for research purposes and education, and secondarily for the entertainment of visitors. But I still believe that animals feel much better without people's control. To sum up, I think that the conservation and educational role of zoos should be strengthened. All zoos must be inspected and licensed, and all animals must be provided with a suitable environment.