In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment

Enrolling for university studies is an important step in peoples` lives and the decision about what course to follow should be a well thought action. I believe that a person needs to take all the actions in order to succeed in a career started at the university and continued in later stages in the work field, although many graduates are not able to find employment after their studies. I personally know many people from my country, Romania, who cannot find work in the area studied during university and even struggle to get employment anywhere else. Therefore, they prefer to work as unqualified personnel in order to earn their living. Even in the UK I have met people with university studies who decided to get qualified into a field where more workforces are needed, like security. In my point of view, one of the reasons might be that the students have not studied hard enough during their time in university. Just going to university and being paid maintenance loans by Student Finance and not caring too much about your studies will not help you afterwards. In the same time, choosing the area where you want to work is an important aspect. For example, if you are a graduate in Tourism you should try to find employment in regions with touristic potential. On the other hand, I believe that the universities should have good connections with local employers and give their students indications and advice about where to start their career. A university that is not connected to economical prospects and that cannot update their curriculum accordingly will not be able offer the students a good start in their careers.