Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree?

It is frequently argued by most people that travelers should be flexible and conform to cultures of the places they visit while others believe that it is not the case. I partly agree to the first idea that one should adapt to the practices observed by a certain place since there are times when the practices go against someone's religious beliefs then at least proper courtesy should be practiced. Traditions are what makes a group of people who they are - it defines them. For this reason, people pass these practices to their next generations by teaching it to the people around them or by repeatedly celebrating it. It is then right for guests who are in someone's respective territory to respect the custom. This is a form of respect to the dwellers. To cite an example of these is how one should dress up. Since in some places, some people are conservative that women needs to cover up themselves and no revealing clothes or even shorts are allowed, then anyone who visits the place should follow the before they will be allowed to enter or roam the area. Furthermore, wearing shorts or revealing clothes is prohibited. In this case, it is indeed important to submit to customs which are being followed. On the other hand, adapting a certain culture means changing oneself in order to conform to the practices and customs of the locals. This might be difficult for others to follow if it goes against their religious beliefs. Thus, I reckon that people may not absolutely adapt to certain practices but at least observe a polite behaviour if they believe that adapting to a certain custom is not an option. To sum up, it is absolutely right to show courtesy when visiting a place. This can be done by observing or respecting the customs and practices being followed by a certain community.