Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs.

It is irrefutable that travel has gain the poularity recently. While few people opine that travellers should follow the customs and traditions of the country they are traveling to, I feel people should adapt local practices to an extent that it should not hurt their own sentiments. There should be harmony among people in adapting customs and cultures. To begin with, it is certainly easier for people to get settled in foreign place if the person follows the local culture. This is because natives would treat him as one of them rather as a foreigner. For example, if you are travelling to canada and you know the French language, it would be easier for you to communicate with the residents and make friends. Additionally, knowing the practices and behaviors of the foreign country, people are actually aware about what is legal or illegal in the country. Thus, it is always a best practice to explore the culture and customs of the place before travelling. However, the host country should be open to embrace the culture and traditions of the tourists. They should appreciate the diversity in the world and accept behaviors of the people without judgements. For instance, countries like thailand, where the food is mostly non-vegan and sea food, but alot of people like me who are vegan do travel to these to enjoy the serenity and local people cannot force to eat meat. Thus, as a solution the country has opened new vegetarian food corners to allow all kind of tourists. To conclude, in my opinion, people from different countries do have different cultures and rituals but all of these are man-made, the travellers and host natives should be open to adapt the diversity in a way that their behaviors do not hurt anyone's feeling and maintain peace across borders.