In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? Write 250 words.

Technological advancements have brought many changes to the way we live and work. A few years ago, it was unheard of for people to have flexible work arrangements such as telecommuting and working from home. This has brought with it many advantages and disadvantages. We shall discuss both of those in this essay. One of the major advantages of the increased use of the internet is that employees have more flexibility with regards to their working practices. This is a huge motivating factor for employees. Been able to work remotely allows them to have more control over their work-life balance especially in relation to time savings. A practical example of this is that for most densely populated cities, it takes anywhere from half an hour to over an hour in traffic to commute to work. However, with the use of computers and the internet, employees can simply log onto their work server and work from their current location. This is a huge win for employees. Another benefit of the work-from-home arrangement is the cost savings benefit experienced by both the employees and the employers. Not having to report to a central physical office reduces the transportation costs incurred by employees in having to meet their work duties. It also reduces the need for companies to pay for office space. This results in both the company and the employees saving money. Although it seems to have mostly brought about good changes, working from home has a few disadvantages as well. The first is its effects on work-life balance. Been able to work from any location brings with it a certain expectation that work can and should be done at all times. This can cause a strain on employees, as employers expect them to work even outside normal working hours, which can lead to burnout. In the current pandemic, there have been a lot of stories of people experiencing burnout whilst working from home. This has serious implications on the mental wellbeing of the employees. The other disadvantage we can look at relates to the general economy at large. With less people having to report for work physically, there is reduced demand for office space by companies. This in turn causes a downturn in the construction and real estate industry, as there is more supply than demand for the office buildings. The ripple effect of this would be massive as it would also affect the employees and companies operating in those industries. There are a lot of benefits arising as a result of working from home. However, neither are the consequences of the same minor. A study should be conducted to review how to mitigate against the disadvantages brought on by increased internet use and flexible work arrangements.