Some people think that very poor people in society need to help themselves. Others, however, believe that the government should provide financial and other assistance to these people.

Every country has poor people, even rich countries like the USA, Australia and European countries. Some tend to think the poor could help themselves get out of poverty, while many think that governments should aid poor people in many ways. Those who think that the poor need to help themselves often blame them for their poverty. They think that drugs or alcohol are involved or that they need to try harder. Perhaps they look at stories of self-made businessmen and decide that if poor people just showed more initiative they could start a business or get a better job. Of course, all of this ignores the reasons for poverty in a rich country, including family breakdown, high cost of living, unemployment and sometimes inferior resources in health and education. Other people see the important role of the government in helping people in poverty. First of all, financial assistance such as unemployment benefits, single parent benefits and emergency loans are essential to save lives. Secondly, structural assistance like cheap housing programs, free education, health insurance and other social programs assist poor people to live decent lives and perhaps save money to eventually escape poverty. In my opinion, a civilized society will always help those in need and give disadvantaged people a chance to improve their lives. It is a human rights issue where food, housing, education and health are concerned and also a moral imperative to make sure no one is left behind. At the same time, by helping the poor, we help ourselves, because society needs as many contributors as possible. Who knows, the next Bill Gates or Einstein might just be in need of some government assistance!