Some people think that university education should be given free of cost to everyone, as everyone has a right to it.

Education is vital for developing the knowledge and character of an individual. It is a growing sentiment among the masses that university courses should be offered free of charge to all citizens, as it constitutes their fundamental right. In my opinion, this solution is a partially correct. The proponents of this proposition argue about the indispensability of attaining a university degree in today’s competitive world. As the job market is becoming and more restricted due to the huge influx of applicants, every employer seeks to secure the best possible candidate for the position. Thus, to create a level playing field for each citizen the government must provide universal education up to the highest level. Secondly, in many countries such as the United States thousands of university graduates are trapped under the burden of student loans. Most private universities there charge a fortune, this not only dooms the students to a vicious cycle of repayment and interest but it also deters many individuals with a weak financial background from even entering the campus. However, this suggestion fails to be a pragmatic one because most countries around the world do not have the sufficient funds to provide for it. A more realistic approach would be to fix the university’s tuition according to the economic background of the individual. Furthermore, there is a chance that such an enticing offer would attract a lot of non-serious applicants that fill up the university’s seats and snatch the opportunity from more deserving candidates. In conclusion, it is irrefutable that higher education is an inalienable right for every person, but the government must come up with a more intelligent solution than just making education cost free.