Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Universities are a place for acquiring higher levels of education. Some people think that the knowledge they impart should be adjusted according to the requirements of the workplace. Others argue that universities should only offer education regardless of whether it is useful or not for employers. In my opinion, universities are the places to acquire skills that improve the employability of a student. In order to acquire knowledge, one does not have to go to university. One can acquire it by reading books, magazines or websites. A great deal of information is now available online and one only has to browse the websites to access it. For example, if someone is interested in learning about European history, they can find numerous books in public libraries. There are also numerous websites that provide this information. Traveling is another way to acquire knowledge. By contrast, the job market requires certain skills that can only be acquired from domain experts. Universities are the right places for this. Knowledge alone does not feed anyone. It has no real value if it does not enable a person to secure a job. Very few people can have the luxury of spending 4 or 6 years at university only to graduate in a subject that is not valued by employers. Hence, in my opinion, the main objective of university programs should be equipping students with the skills required to find a good job. To sum up, universities are certainly the places to acquire knowledge but that knowledge will be valuable only if it equips students with the skills they need to perform well at the workplace. Hence, I do not agree with the argument that universities should offer knowledge just for the sake of it.