Some people think that in order to solve transport problems, governments should provide adult citizens with free bicycles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of cars on the roads is increasing every day. Traffic and transportation issues are a growing concern in every major city. Many people believe that in order to solve traffic and transportation woes young people should be provided free bicycles by governments. I strongly agree with this statement, because this is not only a solution for traffic jams but also it is beneficial for people’ health and finance. Due to the fact, the number of cars on roads has been increased recent years compared to past a decade. This results in traffic, environmental problems growing up. The most alternative solution government should take is free bicycles for the young who can ride confidently. In other words, when free bicycles are available on streets, a number of adults who prefer to ride bikes then other transportations such as privet cars and buses in order to economize their money will dramatically increase. This in turn leads to a significant decrease of a number of cars, environmental diseases. To illustrate China as an example, in 2012, in Wuhan and Hangzhou, with around 90, 000 and 60, 000 bikes respectively were available to use freely for public. In that time, both of these cities witnessed decline of traffic congestions and air pollution. Another benefit of bicycles is that when riding bikes widely helps to protect people from serious diseases such as obesity, heart disease, cancer, mental illness, diabetes and arthritis. Riding bicycle regularly is one of the best ways to reduce people’s risk of health problems associated with a sedentary lifestyle. That is to say, cycling is a good way to control or reduce weight, as it raises your metabolic rate, builds muscle and burns body fat. Moreover, cycling strengthens your heart muscles, lowers resting pulse and reduces blood fat levels. For example, a Danish study conducted over 14 years with 30, 000 people aged 20 to 93 years found that regular cycling protected people from heart disease. In conclusion, to prevent transport problems, the government in major cities should supply free bicycles for adults. I agree completely with the opinion because of not only transport problems’ solution but also health and financial benefits.