Some people think that tourism does harm to local cultures and therefore should be banned. Others think otherwise, saying that local cultures are affected by many factors and therefore tourism should not be banned.

When the issue of the tourism’s effects on indigenous cultures is brought into views, opinions are divided. While many people support the idea that tourism ought to be prohibited on account of it’s negative impacts on local conventions, the majority of citizens claim that it is not tourism that is blamed for the traditional degradation. Personally, I am in favor of the latter and my reasons will be clarified as below. On the one hand, it’s irrefutable that tourism is representing a threat to local cultures in a number of tourist attractions. Obviously, the influx of tourists leads to the combination among various cultures and this is regarded as one of the primary causes of the modification in behaviors and lifestyles which have been existing for thousands of years. Take Sa Pa, which is known as one of the most famous tourist traps in Viet Nam, as a noteworthy example. Because of the fact that there are too many tourists visiting here per year, a wide range of deep-rooted cultures are denatured or substituted partially by exotic cultures. On the other hand, I do believe that it is other factors that trigger the disappearance of some local traditions. For starters, in such a modernized and industrialized society as nowadays, a wide variety of indigenous conventions change as a result. Besides, when human’s perceptions are raised, numerous customs appear to be unsuitable and on the verge of extinction, for instance, child marriage or the custom in the remote areas that father and sons marry with the same woman. Second, it is a lack of awareness of protecting traditions of the local people that is responsible for the cultural retrogression. All in all, while accepting that tourism is one of the factors which affects native traditions, I incline towards the idea that it is not the main one so it doesn’t need to be banned in the public.