Some people think that they should spend money they earn now enjoying life, while others think that the money should be put into savings for future.

Nowadays, people have different perceptions about enjoying life. While some people are of the opinion that, the money they earn should be spent to live life to the fullest, others argue that they should accumulate their funds for a better tomorrow. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support for the latter view. First of all, people who burn all their earnings for happiness, believe that they should live in the moment. This culture is highly prevalent in the west, where the slogan “work hard, party harder” was born, which means, work during the weekdays and have fun over the weekends. For example, when I was working in the United Kingdom, I hardly heard anyone speak about saving money for the future; they rather spend on partying every week or travelling once a month. Moreover, they don’t believe in saving because, their government has several benefits for them after retirement on health, public transportation and bi-weekly pension schemes. On the other hand, investing for tomorrow has its own perks as it makes one independent. With the advancements of technology, everybody is replaceable at their workplace. In such scenarios, having backup funds is highly essential for basic survival. Moreover, in case of any health emergency, either for self or among family members, these savings will come to the rescue. For instance, I personally lost my job due to recession and did not find a new one for the next six months. Since I had been saving all this while, I was able to get through the tough situation without asking anyone for help. In addition, it is always necessary to save for the next generations as it provides them with good education which is highly necessary for their successful career ahead. In conclusion, even though instant gratification might provide joy in that moment, I believe in delayed gratification where one is not only self sufficient, but also has a vision for their future generations.