Some people think that the money spent on protecting endangered plant and animal species can be better spent on fighting poverty and unemployment.

The extinction of certain plants and animal species had lead to various problems in past for human beings as well as to wildlife. However, there is a contracting perspective that money spend on saving endangered species is useless. In my opinion, I agree with the fact that a considerable amount of money should be spent on endangered species. To begin with, it is essential to maintain the food chain in the forest. Moreover, the elimination of certain animals may cause chaos in the chain. For example, in the forest, one group of animals depends on the other for their survival. Hence, the extinction of any animal will lead to disturbance in the wildlife. Secondly, there are a large number of tourists visiting a particular state or area to catch sight of rare animal species. Thus, the extinction of such species can lead to the downfall of tourism affecting the employment of the people living in that area. For example, Ladakh is famous for snow leopards and the extinction of this species will affect the livelihood of the people living in Ladakh as the tourism will be lessened. However, there are numerous people committing suicide due to unemployment and poverty. Hence, spending more money on fighting poverty and unemployment can reduce suicide cases. In conclusion, it is a worthy investment to spend a greater amount on saving endangered species as it will be a lifesaver for ecological biodiversity. Although it is suggested that unemployment and poverty should also be taken care of in order to improve the life of people.