Some people think that the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about/ as to the primary goal of schools. While I agree that schools can transform children into useful members of society, I believe that they also bring benefits to students themselves. On the one hand, turning children into useful citizens is the main purpose of schools. The primary reason is that the same core subjects such as math, literature and civic education are present in the curriculum of most schools. Children, therefore, are expected to share the same moral standards, general knowledge and skills. If all members of population were to have such criteria, society would become more stable and civilized as the crime rate would be low. If schools were to fail to equip their students with needed skills or standards, they would not become productive members of society. Thus, it is understandable why schools’ main responsibility is to producing good members of society. On the other hand, it can argued that children themselves can reap of number of benefits. When children are taught a wide range of subjects, they can have the opportunity to become more well-rounded and widen their outlook on life. This would help them to be able to adapt to a new environment in their later life. Another benefit would be that schools are a perfect environment for students to develop their communication skill. This is largely because they are enabled to make friends with their classmates and talk to them virtually on a daily basis. This skill is considered / arguably highly beneficial for social life of children. In conclusion, it is my view that schools not only produce good citizens for society but also bring benefits for each individual student.