Some people think that the Internet is a useful tool for education while others believe it can be distracting to students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using the Internet in teaching and learning?

Nowadays, the advent of the Internet has made it easy for pupil to reach online teaching materials. While some argue that this can be a valuable development, others believe that it might distract junior from their study as well. There is no doubt that every technology has its own benefits and drawbacks, and thanks to the internet, educational materials are accessible to a wider audience, however, the abundance of entertaining apps might cause students to lose their focus on their education. On the one hand, students can access to an ocean of information about every subject in their curriculum, which profoundly can strengthen students understanding of each topic. This is because there are numerous Video websites that have boosted the quality and availability of topics. For instance, most teachers are leveraging the Internet to promote their way of teaching throughout the world, in turn, helping underprivileged students to compete with other students who are lucky to be taught by experienced teachers. In this way, not only teachers might be able to monetize their content to increase their income, but also students are provided with satisfactory education. On the other hand, the internet can be a source of academic problems in some students' school performance. And this is because there are many factors that might cause students to lose their focus while studying. For instance, as there are more and more apps on the Internet which allow students to interact with their peers seven days of the week, the more source of distraction students have. Thus, they are prone to distract much more than they used to be in the past. Therefore, if students do not use the internet responsibly and do not prioritize their task while surfing online, their academic standing is likely to suffer. In conclusion, although the internet provides many educational contents which can be used to boost teachers' income and students' school performance, the abundance of online entertainment apps might also distract students from their school works.