Some people think that the high taxes on cigarettes and restrictions on smoking in public are beneficial to public health. Others, however, believe that these measures limit people's freedom of choice.

People are divided on the topic of taxes on cigarettes and smoking rules in public places. Some are of the opinion that high taxes on cigarettes and creating designated smoking zones are much-needed steps to look after public well-being. On the other hand, some people think that these measures are regressive and restricting citizens' freedom of expression. I believe, high taxes and laws in place to reduce public smoking are necessary and the right steps. Taxes on cigarettes are a major source of income to the government as there has been an exponential rise in the number of smokers over the past few decades. But public smoking is a major problem every country is facing and many passive smokers are affected by this. Hence, bringing certain regulations on smoking in open space plays a significant role in the improvement of public well-being. For instance, in Singapore, strict rules are in practice related to smoking in open areas, and if anyone breaks the rule, a fine of 300 Singapore dollars will be imposed. This creates a fear in minds of smokers and they follow a habit of smoking only in the designated areas. Besides, high taxes will also reduce the number of smokers eventually in society as not everyone can afford expensive habits. However, smokers and a section of people believe that this is a negative step and harms one's liberty of choice. If high taxes are to be imposed, the question is why only on nicotine products? There are several products in the market like spirits, expensive cigars, alcohol to name a few which can also be taxed high. In a free world, nobody should be directed where to smoke as everyone has the right to do as they wish, as long as he/she is not creating violence and nuisance in the society. In conclusion, I agree with the notion of high taxes on cigarettes and regulating people where to smoke so that, it will not cause inconvenience to the rest of the people. This will also improve public health, and income generating from high taxes can be used on meaningful activities related to the health of citizens.