Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as the resources are limited. While others think we can use as much water as we want.

An argument commonly put forward is that the government should regulate the supply of water as it is a non renewable source. Fresh water is every citizen’s right, however in my opinion the government should have a say in the supply of water. To begin with, fresh water is not a sustainable resource and thus requires government control to prevent its exhaustion. Controlling supply of fresh water is the only way to ensure that there is adequate water for the future generations and sufficient for the present times. Many privileged people waste water in humongous swimming pools and on daily household chores. A constructive result of keeping a check on the supply would be that people will be more cautious in their use of water and would use it sensibly. Moreover, the government should ensure that their people are accessing clean, safe drinking water and it helps to reduce the number of diseases that spread through it. Supporters of the fact that humans should use water as much as they want believe that it will be a violation of basic human rights. Water consumption without any restrictions leads many people to use fresh water inefficiently. For instance, some people use fresh water for washing their cars. In the consequence of limitless usage of fresh water, there is an alarm on decreasing natural resources. To summarise the above arguments, I am inclined to believe that the water supply should be regulated by governments to ensure that it can be easily accessible to everyone, and it is safer and cleaner.