Some people think that the government should provide free education at every level. However, some says that the individuals should pay for their university education.

Nowadays, the importance of education, as the engine of development and prosperity of a country, is growing more and more, making the provision of free education a matter of debate. While it is believed by some that the government is responsible for providing free education at all levels, some argue that people, themselves, should pay for secondary education. In this essay I will discuss both views and explain my support for the latter view. Some people think that the government should provide free education not only at primary level but also at higher education. It is obvious that investment in education results in development and progress, producing benefit for every member of society. Take The US as an example, for every $1 spent in higher education, the state has enjoyed a $7 profit during the last decade. Moreover, secondary education is very costly and a considerable number of highly talented students cannot afford to attend universities, which in turn can have negative effects in a competing world, where the most significant asset of every country is its human capital. However, many are of the opinion that everyone should pay for their college level education. In fact, college education can impose a financially heavy burden on the government, which results in shortage of budget for other areas. Furthermore, free education at university level means that a large group of students enter universities, resulting in higher unemployment in college-related jobs and a shortage of workforce in jobs that do not require higher education degrees. Iran, as an example, is suffering a high unemployment rate of 30 percent in university-related jobs. To sum up, higher education is of great significance in today’s world, and I believe that receiving high quality university education is everyone’s right, but one should make great effort to achieve it, instead of relying on the government.