Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Technology nowadays has greatly changed the way we communicate and socialise. Some may argue that this has improved enourmously how we interact with other human beings. While technological advancements have undoubdetely ameliorated our lives, allowing us to talk instantneously wherever we are and to share information and experiences, in my view it has also made us less social and lonelier. In my essay I will explain the reasons why. In the last twenty years we have been witnessing giant leaps in the way technology allows us to communicate, for instance, through mobiles and computers. Whereas a great number of people believes that all these new gadgets have expended our communicational horizon, in my opinion they have also made us more focussed on ourselves, pushing us to almost forget the world and the other individuals outside of our bubble. For instance, the time we spent using an eletronic device has risen esponentially in the last few years and so we dedicate less time to one other face to face. If we were not glued to our telephones and laptops, we could instead meet friends in person or practise a sport or a hobby together with our peers. Furthermore, the advent of social medias has certainly revolutionised the way we interact. Some might say that we communicate more and more thanks to those channels but, on the contrary, I believe that the actual communication and socialisation have become poorer by the day. For example, I think there is almost no social or emotional intelligence involved in the infinite scrolling on an Instagram page or when one gives a "like" on Facebook, which one often forgets soon after. Therefore, while technology has increased our connectivity, it hasn't made us grow closer. In conclusion, hi-tech current developments present some benefits in terms of connectedness and data sharing, however, personally speaking, I think they have also made our society more selfish, self-obsessed and less sociable.