Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere.

Currently, the government spends part of their budget not only on Arts but on other aspects of governance. I partly agree to the assertion by a number of people that money spent on Arts is a waste. The importance of funding the arts and other sectors will be analyzed in this essay. It is essential that the government spends a significant amount of its budget on other aspects like the hospitals, roads, schools and electricity than in the arts because they determine the quality of life people will live. Taking Nigeria as an example, the percentage of the National budget for health and education is usually below 10 percent of the total which has resulted in poor health infrastructure and services, with fewer teachers, and this may eventually lead to a decline in the health of the nation with poor educational standards. This, it is apparent that ensuring the government spends more money on other services is essential. However, this does not mean that money spent by the government on arts is a waste, because it has an important impact on out quality of life as many people derive great pleasure in going to music festivals and cinemas. This has helped to keep our culture alive for future generations. This shows that the arts should not be neglected. To conclude, I do not believe spending money on arts is a waste. A balance should be struck to ensure the arts and other services are maintained and made available to all.