Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent else where.

Some people argue that the government should stop funding for the arts because this money could be spent in other ways. We are all aware that the amount of money the government spend to support artists and the arts is significantly high. But can we claim that this is a waste? Knowing that people suffer from hunger or poor hygiene and expensive health services, make us think that the government can spend the country's wealth on more serious subjects. For example on health sector or education system. While arts seem like an object of luxury and are not of essential needs of life. On the other hand, we cannot say that supporting arts is a waste of wealth. It is beyond doubt that artworks can inspirit the society and improve people mentally People with healthier minds are less likely to undergo illness or commit crimes. If we accept that the government is responsible to spend on improving our mental health, we must accept that one way lays through supporting art. Secondly, artists and piece of arts are known to have significant impact on the society. Artists play a key role in changing trends. We all remember how we felt after we watched 12 Years a Slave; Artworks can effectively influence people in order to start or join a political or social movement for good changes. Thirdly, in the past, artists relied on wealthy people to support them financially. If the government stops its support, artists might lose their career or join political movements which are against the country's development programs. Fourthly, art is not a consumer of wealth; since there are several art activities which can bring income to a country. For example, movie or book festivals can absorbs so many tourists to a country. Some governments organize regular festivals in order to strengthen their country's tourism industry. In conclusion, I bieleve that spending on the arts is not equal to wasting money. et government can apply mixed funding models with individuals to support the arts and artists.