Some people think that the government is responsible for the rise in childhood obesity, while others think it is the fault of the parents.

Nowadays, with the advent of technological advances, obesity in children is turning out as one of the major health problems. Some people blame the government for this situation and some are with view that it is because of their parents. I think that it is majorly the fault of the parents, where the administration plays a little role. To commence, the administration is held responsible for this problem for two main reasons. Firstly, in most of the developing countries, it has failed to provide the basic facilities of gym, yoga, outdoor games, etc. , in the schools. This tends to discourage children to take part in activities such as games, gymnastics etc. , which increase the physical activity of the body and thereby, reducing the body fat. The second major reason is the adulteration and unchecked food quality, which harms many body parts. For example, often brick powder is mixed with red chilli powder, which when consumed, causes stomach ulcers, harms liver, etc. On the other hand, parents are the first school for the children. Hence, they learn their habits. These days, for most of the kids, both the parents are working long day jobs. Because of this, it becomes very difficult for them to cook and they often buy fast food from outside. It becomes a habit for them to eat fast food daily without any restrictions. This fast food is full of carbohydrates, fats, sugar etc. , which are the major sources of obesity in children. For instance, a survey conducted by the WHO, has published that in the USA, 70% of the obese children do not eat more than 3 home cooked meals in a week. To conclude, in my opinion, both the government and parents are responsible for obesity in children, but parents play a bigger part in it. The administration should encourage physical activities in schools and conduct seminars for parents to make them aware of the importance of home cooked food. Consequently, parents should try to make some time to provide proper nutrition for their kids.