Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters. with this statement?

Nowadays, people travel from suburbs to city for work and the time spending on commute has been increased from past years. While there are some arguments in replacing the park and garden in the city center with apartment buildings, I totally disagree with this opinion and the commute time can be deducted in several ways. On the one hand, city parks and gardens play a vital role in both the environment and urban culture. It's doubtless that afforestation can improve the living condition and provide a relaxing spot for all the residents living around. Without the parks, workers may feel depressed when they can only see the "concrete jungles". Meanwhile, parks can be the landmark of the city and bring economic benefit. For instance, Central Park is in the center of New York Manhattan. It appeals to a lot of tourists from worldwide to visit it every year. People who work in Manhattan can take exercise or admire the scenery for different seasons in Central Park. On the other hand, I think there are other ways to tackle the problem. First and foremost, with the development of technology, people can work from home and perform the same functionality as they work in the office. This could save tons of commute time and people can take more exercise. Secondly, government and train operating companies can set more express lines for people who live outside of the city. It can hugely cut down the traveling time by stopping in fewer stops. Thirdly, companies can move away from the city center and hire employees from local places. In this way, it would not only benefit the local economy and provide employment, but also reduce the commute time for local residents. In conclusion, parks and gardens serve an indispensable role in the city environment. Government and companies can take actions to improve the commute situation.