Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent.

It is common sense that most young people will become parents. Some people have been arguing that teaching every student how to be a good parent at school is vital to the success of the parents and the society. I completely agree with the statement. Being a parent is not a simple task, and most people are not borned to become a good parent. New parents are usually overwhelmed by the breadth of skills they need to learn. For example, they need to learn how to take care of the infants, how to educate the toddlers, and how to deal with kids in adolescent. If the schools offer courses about all these skills, new parents will be more confident about parenting. Also, in many developed countries where people are unwilling to give birth because they think it is too much trouble, when people are properly educated, they will not be afraid of bringing new life to the world. Secondly, when the skills of the parents are improved by the courses in school, the quality of the young generation will also be improved. Due to more proper parenting, young people get better education from the parents. This is beneficial to both the society and the economy. For instance, crime rate will go down and people's productivity will increase. On the other hand, people may argue that it is too costly for the government to offer everyone parenting course. However, the cost is well justified from my points above. For example, lower crime rate will lead to less budget for police departments, and improved productivity will bring more tax income for the government. In conclution, offering parenting course for every young person is benifical for not only the parents, but also the whole society. The cost for offering the course is always a good deal comparing with the cost for dealing with bad parenting. Therefore, I agree with the statement that schools should teach every young person how to be a good parent.