Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree.

Nowadays, many individuals spend a few hours on commuting between workplaces and their home. In order to deal with this issue, some people suggest that more residential buildings could be built in replacement of green space in central business districts. Nevertheless, some others are strongly opposed to this opinion. People who advocate the replacement of leisure facilities with apartments have their cogent reasons. For one thing, it helps to tackle with the serious traffic problems. If an increasing number of people were working in cities and lived near their offices, the amount of vehicles in cities would be reduced greatly during peak hours. Meanwhile, the polluted gas emitted by cars would be much less. For another, individuals would have more leisure time when they spend less on travelling between work and home. Once workers live close to their workplaces, they could get up a bit later, do some reading or other habit after getting off. That means they would live a healthier and meaningful lives. However, some others disagree with the above point of view. In their view, recreational spaces play an significant role in people’s lives. Firstly, the natural landscape are important for the whole Eco-system. The action of photosynthesis can absorb a huge amount of carbon dioxide we emit and produce oxygen, which helps to mitigate the urban heat island effect. Secondly, leisure areas are vital for people’s mental health. During lunch time, employees usually have lunch or have a rest in parks, to release their stress from work. Admittedly, both sides are reasonable. From my part, i stand on the side of the latter view that parks and gardens in cities are too important for environment and people’s mental live to be replaced.