Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems.

Higher secondary education provides constructive foundation to students. Some argue that studying literature is a vain attempt and pupils need to concentrate on other subjects. The question is that do students merely benefit from this subject? Or does it serve any connection with the career that they will be opting in near future? From my viewpoint, I feel that gaining knowledge on literature serves its purpose indirectly, even if students does not choose literature as major in their graduation. Firstly, Instilling literature knowledge on students in high school would help them amplify their language skills. As result, improved language would help them score high mark in other subjects too! For instance, with help of poems, students can tend to increase their writing skill. Sometimes, this study can highly influence students by providing interesting facts and by keeping them motivated. Furthermore, literature contains life lessons which helps the pupils to lead better quality life in future. This has been helping the students to communicate effortlessly! Secondly, students might find this as boring subject and has no direct influence on their career prospects. Those who advocate this argument state that the other subjects need to be prioritized in higher secondary education. For example: studying science, mathematics and history needs to be emphasized. However, these people tend to forget the that literature acts as the basic component to help in studying other topics. To conclude, although, the significance of other subjects weighs more, we should not disregard to tuition literature for high school students as it is beneficial. I strongly disagree, to the statement, that it is useless to educate the literature to higher secondary students. Personally, I feel that this acts as basics development despite the other career-oriented subjects.