Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

With a view to shortening time for commuting back and forth between home and workplace, a matter of considerable controversy at the present is the issue of whether constructions of apartment complexes around the heart of city should be carried out to substitute for green space, such as parks and garden, or rather vice versa. Personally, I am of the former opinion as urban residents will reap ample benefits from this approach. On the one hand, it is worth bearing in mind that an increase in the number of building blocks is the driving force for the loss of playground for native inhabitants, which in turn wreaks havoc on public well-being. First of all, central parks play a pivotal role in regulating air by releasing oxygen and absorb carbon dioxide on a daily basis, making great contribution to a healthy living environment, especially in air-polluted cities. That said, should urban zones be dearth of trees and outdoor space, their inhabitants might put up with respiratory problems. Second of all, as no longer are children exposed to the intrinsic beauty of nature for entertainment and relaxation, they would immerse themselves into other means of indoor playing, such as digital games. As a result, they evolve a sedentary lifestyle with technology and isolation from outdoor activities. on the other hand, I hold a belief that clearing parks and gardens to make way for offices and accommodation has positive impacts on traffic and personal realms. It goes without saying that traffic congestions result from excessive numbers of personal vehicles at peak hour, and this can be alleviated if the gap in distance from work back to home can be bridged. Other things being equal, walking on foot or cycling, by hints of effortless accessibility, is likely to tackle bottlenecks on street in a long run once locations are handy to reach. In addition, expenses on monthly petrol can be set aside for other purposes that would otherwise put some strain on personal budgets. Meanwhile, hassle-free mornings without rushing to work, saving more time to take care of breakfast or simply a little longer sleep will generate gratification.