Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Some people may think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. This essay will discuss both views and it will then provide some opinions for support. Firstly, if some people are accused of a serious crime such as murder and kidnap, they should be suffering from punishment like a loner prison sentence. For example, someone who has been charged with murder, rape, or kidnaps must be sentenced to jail for the rest of their life in Hong Kong according to Hong Kong laws. Over 30 years ago, Hong Kong still set a capital penalty for someone who was accused of murder and kidnaps until the U. K Queen arrived in HK around 1984 to 1985. Although the capital penalty has been canceled in Hong Kong for ages and a longer prison sentence has been used instead, it is even effective to reduce the number of crimes in Hong Kong. On the other hand, some countries such as Singapore and America have the capital penalty according to their laws, and the purposes of setting a very strict penalty for their residents who make an unforgivable crime are to reduce the crimes and also make a secure, peaceful and safe place in their countries. In conclusion, if everyone is willing to abide by the laws and obey the government in their countries, they will not need to suffer from any punishment and they will enjoy their life peacefully.